	<u>Drun</u> agonaa	
	28 th Annual Business Meeting of the <i>I</i> To be held in Cardiff Un	
Location:	Lecture Theatre (Room 0.05), <u>The Opt</u> Road, Cathays, Cardiff. CF24 4HQ.	ometry Building, Cardiff University, Maindy
Maplink:	https://www.google.co.uk/maps/dir//51.491829,	-3.182521/@51.4919835,-3.1866733,16z/data=!3m1!4b1

DOCUMENT 1

27 June 2016 11:00 – 13:00 A sandwich lunch will be provided after the AGM.

DOCUMENTS CAN BE FOUND here: http://www.ae-info.org/ae/Acad_Main/Past_Events/2011present/2016%20Annual%20Business%20Meeting%20of%20Members

In the chair: The President - Professor. Dr. Sierd Cloetingh (Utrecht)

1.	Welcome, adoption of the draft agenda	[Doc 1]
2.	To approve the minutes of the 2015 Annual Business Meeting	[Doc 2]

3. Questions to the Trustees on any matters arising from the minutes of 2015, where these are not otherwise covered in the agenda below?

Transaction of Ordinary Business

4. Appointments and elections

Draft agenda

4.1 <u>ELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL</u> [Doc 4.1]

<u>Resolution: That the AGM do elect an Independent member of the Council for the period 2015–2018.</u>

The three-year term of office shall commence from the close of the AGM.

4.2 <u>Re-Appointment of two independent members of the Council</u>

Under Regulations Section 10(2), Professor <u>Marie Farge</u> (Physics & Engineering) and Professor <u>Laszlo Csernai</u> (Physics and Engineering) are both eligible for re-appointment to Council for a final period of three years. Both have expressed a wish to be re-appointed.

Resolution

The Board recommend: that members re-appoint Marie Farge and Laszlo Csernai to Council for a final term of three years, effective immediately.

4.3 CO-OPTED TRUSTEES

Under Regulation (9 (2)): The Council seek approval for the co-option of the following as Trustees;

Professor Balazs Gulyas (Physiology and Neuroscience and organiser of the 29th Annual conference in Budapest in 2017);

Professor Theo D'Haen (Editor-in-Chief of the European Review) Professor Eva Kondorosi (co-opted from 1 January 2016 to replace Prof. Maurer) Professor Don Dingwell (Vice president (ex officio) and Chair of Class B) Professor Svend Erik Larsen (Vice president (ex officio) and Chair of Class A1)

Resolution:

The Trustees recommend : that members approve the co-options, as follows:

Prof. Gulyas until the AGM of 2018 Prof. D'Haen until the AGM of 2018

The Academia Europaea is a Company limited by Guarantee registered in the UK (07028223) and a registered not-for-profit Charity (1133902). Registered office: Room 251, Senate House, Malet Street. London WC1E 7HU. Tel: +44(0)2078625784. Website: www.ae-info.org

Prof. E Kondorosi until the AGM of 2019 Prof. Dingwell until the AGM of 2018 Prof. Larsen until the AGM of 2019

5 Reports (covering the past 12 months and going forward): QUESTIONS ARE INVITED

5.1 President - Sierd Cloetingh. 2015 Activity report, highlights and future plans

Resolution: That the AGM adopt the audited 2015 annual activity report [the report will be available on the corporate website] [Doc 5.1]

5.2 Treasurer – Professor Ole Petersen

5.2.1 Annual financial statement :

- Resolution: That the AGM adopt the audited accounts. [Doc 5.2] The accounts will be accessible on the AE website
- 5.2.2 Resolution: that the AGM_ re-appoint the Auditors: Messrs Keith Vaudrey and Co. Ltd, London.
- 5.2.3 Annual members' financial contribution for 2017

<u>Resolution</u>: The Trustees recommend that the AGM approve an annual, [voluntary] contribution of 130 Euros, from January 1st 2017.

Chair of the 'Class Chairs group' and Trustee - Prof. Ole Petersen 5.3

Hub reports

- 5.4 the Barcelona Knowledge Hub - Prof. Ricard Guerrero
- 5.5 the Wroclaw Knowledge Hub - Prof. Tadeuz Luty
- the Bergen Knowledge Hub 5.6 Prof. Jan Vaagen
- 5.7 the Cardiff Knowledge Hub - Prof. Ole Petersen
- 5.8 Presentation of the Young Academy of Europe - Prof. Nicole Grobert (President)

6. Any other Business (notified in advance)

- 6.1 Announcement of the 29th Annual conference in Budapest
 6.2 Announcement of the 2017 Erasmus Medal call for nominations

NOTES:

You can find the 2016 member directory at: http://www.ae-info.org/ae/Acad_Main/List_of_Members/ The Statutes and regulations can be found at: http://www.aeinfo.org/ae/Acad_Main/Publications/Press_release