Academic Management#

The scholarly interests of the Academia are managed through a class and section structure.

On election, all members are assigned to a section. At the present time there are twenty-three academic sections covering:


Each section has a committee of its members to provide a focus for interaction with members. The chairs of the section committees are de facto members of the Council of the Academia Europaea. Each Class has a Chair to coordinate the assessment process and develop the membership structure and composition policy in consultation with the Council and on behalf of the Board of Trustees. Policy for the election of Class Chairs(info).

Section committees operate under rules of procedure(info) and terms of reference.

Each section has the responsibility for assessing potential new members of the Academia and for developing activities of relevance to that domain.

For the purposes of nomination and election of new members to the Academy sections are grouped into one of four Classes. These are: #


Each Class has a Chair to coordinate the assessment process and develop the membership structure and composition policy in consultation with the Council and on behalf of the Board of Trustees.

See also how to become a member.

Documents


CLASS A1 - Humanities#

Class Chair: Poul Holm

HISTORY AND ARCHAEOLOGY
Chair: Nikita Harwich (harwich.nikita@noos.fr)

CLASSICS AND ORIENTAL STUDIES
Chair: Gerd Haverling (gerd.haverling@lingfil.uu.se)

LINGUISTIC STUDIES
Chair: Pier M. Bertinetto (bertinetto@sns.it)

LITERARY AND THEATRICAL STUDIES
Chair: Vladimir Biti (vladimir.biti@univie.ac.at)

MUSICOLOGY AND ART HISTORY
Chair: Laurenz Lütteken (luetteken@access.uzh.ch)

PHILOSOPHY, THEOLOGY AND RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Chair: Genoveva Marti (genoveva.marti@gmail.com)

FILM, MEDIA AND VISUAL STUDIES
Chair: Göran Bolin (goran.bolin@sh.se)

CLASS A2 - Social and Related Sciences#

Class Chair: Björn Wittrock
Deputy Class Chair: Shalini Randeria

ECONOMICS, BUSINESS AND MANAGEMENT SCIENCES
Chair: Klaus Zimmermann (klaus.f.zimmermann@gmail.com)

GOVERNANCE, INSTITUTIONS AND POLICIES: EDUCATION, HEALTH AND WELFARE
Chair: Peter Scott (p.scott@ucl.ac.uk)

HUMAN MOBILITY, GOVERNANCE, ENVIRONMENT AND SPACE
Chair: Maria Paradiso (maria.paradiso@unimi.it)

LAW
Chair: Nina Dethloff (dethloff@uni-bonn.de)

SOCIAL CHANGE AND SOCIAL THOUGHT
Chair: Peter Wagner (Peter.Wagner@ub.edu)

THE HUMAN MIND AND ITS COMPLEXITY
Chair: Jüri Allik (juri.allik@ut.ee)


CLASS B – Exact Sciences#

Class Chair: Donald Dingwell

MATHEMATICS
Chair: Philippe Michel (philippe.michel@epfl.ch)

INFORMATICS
Chair: Schahram Dustdar (dustdar@dsg.tuwien.ac.at)

PHYSICS AND ENGINEERING SCIENCES (Physics, Engineering, Material Sciences)
Chair: Pavel Exner (exner@ujf.cas.cz)

CHEMICAL SCIENCES (Chemistry, Chemical Engineering)
Chair: Graham J. Hutchings (hutch@cf.ac.uk)

EARTH AND COSMIC SCIENCES (Climatology, Earth and Marine Sciences, Astronomy and Space Research)
Chair: Paolo Papale (paolo.papale@ingv.it)

CLASS C – Life Sciences#

Class Chair: Alexei Verkhratsky
Deputy Class Chair: Robert Zorec

BIOCHEMISTRY AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY (Biochemistry, Molecular Biology)
Chair: Éva Kondorosi (eva.kondorosi@gmail.com)

CELL AND DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY (Cell and Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology)
Chair: To be confirmed.

PHYSIOLOGY AND NEUROSCIENCES (Physiology and Biophysics, Neuroscience, Clinical Science, Pharmacology and Toxicology)
Chair: Tibor Harkany (Tibor.Harkany@meduniwien.ac.at)

ORGANISMIC AND EVOLUTIONARY BIOLOGY (Population Biology, Environmental Biology, Biosystematics, Evolutionary Biology)
Chair: Christophe Thébaud (christophe.thebaud@univ-tlse3.fr)

CLINICAL AND VETERINARY SCIENCE
Chair: Stephen Holgate (sth@soton.ac.uk)





Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-103) was last changed on Monday, 5. October 2020, 14:11 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by